Get Your Medical Marijuana Card in California
Talk to a licensed medical marijuana doctor online and get approved or your money back!
Talk to a licensed medical marijuana doctor online and get approved or your money back!
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in CA
Still not sure about the process?
About Cannabis in California
Cannabis is legal for medical and recreational use in California. The state has been at the forefront of attempts in latest decades to reform cannabis laws, starting in 1972 with the nation’s first ballot initiative to try to legalize cannabis. California was the first state to set up a medical cannabis program, adopted in 1996 by Proposition 215 and in 2003 by the Senate Bill 420. Proposition 215, also known as the Compassionate Use Act, enables individuals to acquire and use cannabis for any disease if they receive a doctor’s advice.
According to Proposition 64, recreational use of cannabis is legal. Immediately upon certification of the November 2016 ballot outcomes, no more than one ounce of dry marijuana or eight grams of concentrated marijuana were permitted to:
- Possess, transport, process, buy, receive or give away to adolescents aged 21 or older without any compensation whatsoever.
- Possess, plant, cultivate, harvest, dry, or process no more than six live crops in a personal residence, in a closed region not seen from an ordinary point of perspective, in accordance with all local regulations.
- Smoke or cannabis ingestion.
- Possession, transportation, buy, acquire, use, produce or deliver paraphernalia cannabis to people 21 years of age or older.
Users may not:
- Smoke it if tobacco is banned,
- Possess, ingest or smoke within 1000 feet of a daycare center, college, or youth center while kids are present (except in a private residence and where such smoke is not detectable to such kids).
- Produce focused cannabis using a volatile solvent without a permit under Division 8 or Business and Professions Code Chapter 3.5 or Division 10.
- Possess an open container or paraphernalia cannabis while in a vehicle’s driver or passenger seat.
- Smoke or ingest marijuana while using a transportation car.
- When driving in a passenger seat or car compartment, smoke or ingest marijuana.
Legal sales for non-medical use shall be permitted by law from 1 January 2018, following the implementation by the State Bureau of Medical Cannabis Regulation (to be renamed Bureau of Marijuana Control) of fresh laws on the retail industry. Proposition 64 is not intended to impact, amend or limit the medical cannabis laws laid down in Proposition 215 in California.
Now that recreational marijuana is legal, do I still need a medical recommendation?
Patients with recommendations from a doctor may develop or possess greater amounts of marijuana than consumers of recreation. Additionally, if you are under the age of 21, you must have a doctor’s suggestion to buy cannabis, but some dispensaries have discontinued sales to patients under the age of 21 to fit in with recreational dispensary regulations. Finally, a medical marijuana ID card issued by the county exempts you from tax on purchases of marijuana.
How do patients get medical marijuana recommendations?
Doctors are not prescribing cannabis. Schedule I drugs, including marijuana, are specifically prohibited by federal law. Doctors can instead suggest marijuana for suitable circumstances. Patients with cancer, anorexia, AIDS, chronic pain, spasticity, glaucoma, arthritis, migraine, or any other disease that can be relieved by marijuana are stated in Prop. 215. For various other circumstances, doctors have suggested marijuana, including insomnia, depression, anxiety, PTSD, and many more.
Most of the recommendations for medicinal marijuana are made by doctors who are specialized in evaluating patients for cannabis treatment rather than the usual doctor of the patients. Before creating a suggestion, the recommending doctor should review the current medical records of patients, including checking any other medicines already used by patients.
Caregivers in California
The main caregiver may be designated by patients in the registry who require help in acquiring or using medical cannabis. A primary caregiver must be at least 18 years of age and can take care of a number of individuals as long as they live in the same county. A primary caregiver is unable to apply for an identification card for medical marijuana. The patient must apply to the caregiver appointed. The fee needed varies from county to county.
A primary caregiver is an individual who is continuously responsible for the patient’s accommodation, health, or safety. This can be an individual or the owner, operator or worker of a suitably certified clinic, facility, hospice, or home health organization.
Who Can Qualify as a Primary Caregiver?
A prescribed medical marijuana patient may appoint as their primary caregiver any person they choose. However, to qualify for the criminal liability exemption, the appointed primary caregiver must genuinely provide care facilities to the patient beyond just medical marijuana help.
Under California law, a designated primary caregiver must continuously take accountability for the patient’s accommodation, health, or safety. This has been interpreted by the California courts to require a designated main caregiver to:
- Consistently provide care ;
- The individual you care for is legally permitted to use medical marijuana ; and
- You satisfy a primary caregiver’s legal definition under the CUA.
What are the Requirements for a Primary Caregiver?
Under the California Medical Marijuana Plan, the primary caregiver of marijuana is able to apply for an ID card and enable the primary caregiver to prevent arrest because of marijuana ownership, cultivation and transportation.
As part of the same state plan, the cannabis patient would also need an ID card. In the state of California, the law does not require that the caregiver of marijuana fill in any unique documents to claim primary caregiver status.
To ensure that there are no rigid requirements, it is essential to verify with your county or city codes or ordinances. In addition, some countries do not enable individuals earlier convicted of a felony drug offense to become a main caregiver.
Possession and Cultivation Limits in CA
Possession / Use Limits: Adults over 21 years of age may have a mixture of:
- 28.5 grams of usable marijuana and
- 8 grams of cannabis concentrate
Adults may also be involved in the home cultivation program in California. Adults without the advice of a valid qualifying physician are permitted to develop up to 6 crops, irrespective of their maturity level.
Under MAUCRSA, patients with medical cannabis may possess and transport up to eight ounces (8 oz.), or 226.8 grams of dried cannabis or concentrate and up to six mature crops or 12 immature plants. Adult consumers may only possess and carry one ounce (1 oz) or 28.5 grams of dried cannabis and eight grams (8 g) of cannabis concentrate. In their cars, legal customers can carry marijuana, but it must be in a closed container or in the trunk.
Adults may pass or give up to one ounce (1 oz) or 28.5 grams of dried cannabis and 8 grams (8 grams) of cannabis concentrate to another adult aged 21 or older.
Growing Limits: Residents of California can own and grow up to 6 living marijuana crops under AUMA. In addition, at a specified moment, only six crops are permitted per residence. Patients with medical marijuana and their main caregivers can grow up to six (6) live cannabis crops, enabling local ordinances. Medical marijuana patients may be allowed to develop a larger quantity according to the requirements of the patient with a physician’s advice.
Marijuana crops must be held in a closed room which is not publicly noticeable, and any marijuana product arising from the plant exceeding 28.5 grams (g) must be held safe within the grower’s personal residence.
"Had a great doctor. Super caring, listened to my concerns closely."
"Quick and painless, thanks."
"Felt comfortable and relaxed, virtual appointment made it simple."
- Erin M.
Places to Visit in California After Enjoying Your Medicine
Known as “The Golden State,” one of the most lovely and diverse countries in the United States is California. Due to its huge size (only slightly lower than Sweden’s entire nation), cultural diversity (urban, desert, coast, and forest), cultural variety, and innovation history, the state has something incredible to give just about any visitor. In 2014, more than 15 million individuals from outside the U.S. visited California along with an additional one million from other American states. Wine country tours, stunning beaches, town escapes, romantic coastal excursions, honeymoon thoughts, family trips, and relaxing spa getaways are available.
Yosemite Falls, Yosemite National Park
Yosemite Falls are popular with worldwide tourists. Much of the water crashing down the drops and coming from snowmelt into the lake below. Yosemite is the fifth highest waterfall in the globe and it is 2,425 feet from top to bottom. The falls in May and June are at their most spectacular, once the snow has melted the drops into a trickle and then you have to wait again for the cooler climate.
California’s Pacific Coast Highway
One of the most lovely drives there is the Pacific Coast Highway in California. It runs along most of California’s shoreline and is renowned for its lovely landscapes all over the globe. The path is a Blue Star Memorial Highway designated as a manner of recognizing those serving in the U.S. military.
Santa Cruz, California
Santa Cruz is one of America’s surfing meccas. The town itself is only tiny with about 50,000 inhabitants, but the lovely beaches and bohemian atmosphere attract many tourists from all over the globe. The sense of summer throughout the year contributes to the sensation of paradise that you will always feel in this town.
Lava Beds National Monument
When you’re in Tulelake, there are 25 lava tube caves you can visit. It’ll be like nothing you’ve encountered before when you climb down into the caves. The caves have lava tubes and a visitor center explaining their development.