About Cannabis in Michigan
The Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) wasted no time getting patients the relief they needed once the state legalized prescribed cannabis in 2008 of the ‘Michigan Medical Marihuana Act’. Then in 2019, the Great Lake State legalized the recreational use of cannabis, with retail sales beginning in December of that year. Since then, there’s been a multiple million dollar difference in state finances.
A July 2020 Lansing City Pulse news report detailed that “state records show that recreational marijuana sales climbed more than eightfold since December and have rested at more than $10 million weekly since last month.” Additionally, Michigan medical cannabis sales also “skyrocketed,” according to the news report, adding that prescribed products “landed just under $10 million from June 8 to 14.”
Similar to other states, Michigan is seeing the benefits of medical and recreational marijuana legalization for adult use. There has been an immediate financial gain from sales, giving even more states the idea to expand their statewide marijuana programs beyond just medical use.
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Marijuana Registration in Michigan
According to the Marijuana Regulatory Agency, Michigan has more than a dozen conditions that qualify residents for a medical marijuana card. The list includes the following debilitating conditions:
Michigan also considers “chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces 1 or more of the following”:
Process to Apply for a Michigan Medical Marijuana Card
Along with having one or more of the qualifying conditions, a patient applying for a Michigan medical marijuana card must also prove their residency with a valid driver’s license or state identification card.
Once you have seen the Veriheal provided doctor and have been approved, you can begin the application to register for the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) with the Marijuana Regulatory Agency.
You’ll create an online account and while filling out the application form, you will need to verify your address and submit proof of Michigan residency. Acceptable forms for proof of residency include a state driver’s license number or personal identification (PID), or a signed Michigan voter registration. If using your voter registration, then you’ll also need to provide an additional valid government-issued document with your name and birthdate.
You will also need to provide the Michigan physician license number, your physician certification, and pay the $40 fee for the state application, which must be renewed annually at the same cost. If a patient has Medicaid or receives SSI, they are eligible for a reduced card cost of $25 annually.
Caregiver Information for Michigan
A primary caregiver, like the patient, must first prove Michigan residency before applying for a card. Michigan accepts either a current driver’s license or state identification card as adequate proof. Expired forms of identification are not accepted. Additionally, the caregiver must be added to the patient’s registration to be considered.
Lastly, a primary caregiver must be at least 21-years-old and not have a felony conviction to be able to assist a patient in the medical cannabis program. The cost for a caregiver card is $40, recently reduced from $60 in 2019. Caregivers are not required to pay for a criminal background check.
Possession and Cultivation of Medical Marijuana in Michigan
In Michigan, the state allows any adult to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana on their person, with up to 15 grams of it being marijuana concentrate. Additionally, a resident is allowed to possess up to 10 ounces of cannabis for medical use at their residence but any amount over 2.5 ounces must be kept in a container until use. “Possession of more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana and up to 5.0 ounces of marijuana is a civil infraction punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and forfeiture of the marijuana for a first offense,” according to the state. Furthermore, the state of Michigan mandates that “an adult may transfer up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana to another adult as long as there is no remuneration and the transfer is not advertised or promoted to the public.”
Michigan now allows citizens to grow marijuana even if they are not medical marijuana cardholders. Adults 21-years-old or older may now legally grow up to 12 plants.
Frequently Asked Questions
To become a patient in Michigan you’ll need a current state driver’s license or state issued personal identification card. Additionally, You can also use a signed voter registration if you also submit a government-issued document that includes your name and date of birth for verification.
First, Veriheal can provide you with access to see a licensed medical marijuana doctor in Michigan who can certify you for the state cannabis program. Once you are approved, you will receive a recommendation letter from the physician, and you can begin to fill out the application for the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP).
If you are not approved, your consultation is free but our Veriheal network of highly qualified physicians have a high approval rate.
The initial consultation with the registered physician takes 10 – 15 minutes. However, from that first appointment to being approved and filling out your state medical marijuana application and being able to purchase medicine at a local dispensary can take anywhere between 2 to 3 weeks.
It’s only possible to get approved for medical cannabis by a certified Michigan doctor who is registered with the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP).
Yes. Michigan allows patients and non-patients who are 21-years-old or older to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis for medical use away from home or up to 10 ounces at home.
For $199 your medical evaluation with a licensed Michigan practitioner is covered as well as an authorized certification for medical cannabis. For $379, Veriheal will assist in certifying you and a family member or friend.