The Status of Cannabis Legalization in Connecticut
Recently in Connecticut cannabis reform, House Bill 6941 was signed into law by Governor Ned Lamont. The bill provides tax reforms to state-licensed cannabis businesses, reducing their state tax burden.
Since medicinal cannabis use was made legal, the Constitution State has added several qualifying conditions and recently opened its final dispensary in Groton. With 18 licensed dispensaries available throughout Connecticut, patients and qualified caregivers can conveniently travel to a local dispensary, where edibles and flowers are available for purchase, according to The Day.
While medicinal cannabis is legal in Connecticut, recreational use is still prohibited, but is a consideration, reports Benzinga. “In 2018, state medical spending reached $83 million, according to data from Arcview Market Research and BDS Analytics,” reports the financial news source. “That figure is expected to dip to $71 million by 2024, with adult-use — if passed — reaching $265 million.”
Applying to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut
The process in Connecticut to becoming a medical cannabis patient takes just 3 steps:
- Book an appointment
- Meet with a doctor who can provide a recommendation through Veriheal
- Complete a medical marijuana application with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. Their registration fee is $100.
Note that the physician will initiate the online registration by submitting a valid patient certificate. Afterwards, the patient will have access to the online system where you are required to complete the patient’s application section. Before submitting, make sure you create a copy of your request for your records.
Medical Marijuana Qualifying Medical Conditions
The Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection specifies the state’s medical cannabis registry’s list of qualifying conditions. The initial list in 2012 was limited compared to current list with the additions that have been made over the years. The conditions in 2012 were:
The following conditions were added to the medical cannabis registry in 2016:
The noted conditions added in 2018 were:
By 2019, the noted conditions were also added to the list:
- Interstitial cystitis
- Intractable neuropathic pain that is unresponsive to standard medical treatments
- MALS syndrome
- Tourette syndrome
- Vulvar burning
By 2020 the following conditions were added:
Lastly, in 2021 the following conditions were added:
Along with a noted qualifying medical condition, every patient who applies for a medical marijuana certificate must be a Connecticut resident and be 18 years of age. Additionally, the qualifying patient cannot be an inmate in a facility under the supervision of the Connecticut Department of Corrections.
Cost of a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut
The cost to register for a Connecticut medical cannabis license is $100, separate from the $199 Veriheal cost. After a short evaluation with a medical cannabis physician at Veriheal, the physician will initiate the registration process for the patient through the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). Then the patient will have access to the online system where they will complete the patient’s section.
Caregivers in Connecticut
Connecticut requires caregivers to have a valid e-mail address, a primary telephone number, and a Connecticut driver’s license or state identification card. The fee for caregivers to apply for a medical cannabis card is $25. Additionally, the caregiver must be at least 18-years-old, agree to assist the qualifying medical marijuana patient concerning the palliative use of cannabis, cannot have been convicted of a felony, and cannot be a certified physician.
Connecticut only allows a caregiver to assist one patient at a time. The state specifies that “the only exception is having a parental, guardianship, conservatorship or sibling relationship with each qualifying patient for whom you are registering to be the primary caregiver.”
Cultivation and Possession in Connecticut
Once approved for a medical cannabis card issued by the Consumer Protection Department of Connecticut, both a patient and caregiver are allowed to hold up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis for one month after receiving their card in the mail.
There is absolutely no cultivation allowed in Connecticut, making it illegal for patients or caregivers to grow any cannabis plants for medicinal use.
Frequently Asked Questions
The registration process is simple. Use the form at the top of this page to begin the process, and Veriheal will begin setting you up with a MMJ physician who can evaluate your health and confirm your condition.
The cost for the medical marijuana evaluation and approval with Veriheal is $199, with a full guarantee that you will get your money back if you are not approved. As for the state of Connecticut, they charge a $100 registration fee separate from Veriheal. This fee must be paid to become state-certified after approval.
No, the state does not offer any physician referrals, which is why Veriheal has set up shop in Connecticut to assist residents who wish to apply for a medical marijuana card.
No, you cannot grow cannabis in Connecticut. All cannabis must be purchased from a certified dispensary.
Yes, the Connecticut State Consumer Protection Department specifies that chronic pain of at least 6 months duration associated with a specified underlying chronic condition refractory to other treatment intervention is a qualifying condition.
Yes. To be approved for a medical cannabis license in the state of Connecticut, an applicant must provide either a state driver’s license or identification card to prove they live at a specific address.
That depends on the state, which is why it is important to contact the state you are visiting to find out their medical cannabis rules and regulations.
Both a patient and caregiver are allowed to hold up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis for a month’s supply.
Dispensaries in Connecticut carry a wide variety of products. As of 2022, medical marijuana patients are able to purchase all types of medical marijuana products such as dry cannabis flower, tinctures, edibles, extracts, concentrates, pre-rolls, vapes, and concentrates.
Yes, cannabis edibles are legal in Connecticut.
No, residents must have a Connecticut Medical Marijuana Registration Certificate in order to purchase and possess cannabis in the state.
Connecticut insurers do not generally provide coverage for medical marijuana cards, as cannabis is not an FDA-approved drug.