About Cannabis in Illinois
The Prairie State passed medicinal cannabis in 2013 with Senate Bill 862 signed into law by Gov. Pat Quinn. Six years later, in August 2019, Illinois’s recreational cannabis sales totaled $300 million in the first seven months of legalization after Gov. J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 2023, according to THCnet.com, a leading cannabis trade news source.
Showing overwhelming support for recreational cannabis legalization, Lt. Gov. Julia Stratton was among the first citizens to purchase it on the first day of sales in 2019. After her purchase, she tweeted, “For too long, IL residents, particularly those that are black & brown, have been targeted and criminalized for #cannabis possession.”
She finished off the social media post, saying, “It’s not just a new year, it’s a new day. Thank you, @Gov.Pritzker, for ending prohibition and building a more equitable Illinois.”
Illinois invites all qualifying patients and everyday citizens to purchase cannabis for medicinal or recreational purposes, significantly ending decades of discrimination against a plant that proves to alleviate certain medical disorders or their symptoms.
Patient Qualifying Conditions and Cost in Illinois
Illinois has more than 50 allowable conditions approved for medicinal legalization in 2013, including:
After Veriheal assists with setting up patients with state-certified medical cannabis physicians at the cost of $199, the state of Illinois charges an additional one-year $100 registration fee for card registration. Veterans or citizens who are enrolled in Social Security only pay $50 annually. The state also offers two-year registration cards at a reduced fee and three-year licenses for $250. Only patients with an Illinois medical cannabis card can purchase prescribed cannabis in the state. The state does not accept out-of-state patient cards. As with all states, an Illinois patient must prove residency with a valid driver’s license or identification card to be eligible for a card.
To qualify for an Illinois medical marijuana card, it’s a 4 step process. You’ll book an appointment to see a doctor who will evaluate your ailments and determine if you qualify for medical cannabis treatment. Once approved, you can submit your application to the state of Illinois and your card will arrive in 60 days. Once it arrives you can start buying from the dispensaries.
The Illinois Department of Public Health specifies that to qualify for the Illinois medical marijuana program, you must:
- Be an adult (at least 18-years-old or older)
- Minors must have recommendations from two physicians and their legal guardian must give consent
- Be recommended by a physician for marijuana use.
- Be an Illinois state resident with proof of residency.
- Not hold a school bus permit or Commercial Driver’s License
- Not be a firefighter, a correctional officer, an active duty law enforcement officer, or a correctional probation officer.
The first step to becoming a medicinal marijuana patient in Illinois is to meet with a certified Illinois doctor licensed from the state to certify patients for medical marijuana. This is the service Veriheal provides. Our physician will fill out the Physician Certification Form and submit it via mail to the Illinois Department of Health.
The application fee depends upon the length of the registration in years. For a one-year card, the cost is $100, for a two-year card the cost is $200; and for a three-year card the cost is $250. The application fee is non-refundable.
A reduced application fee is available to those on social security disability income, supplemental security income, and for veterans. The reduced application fee is $50 for a one-year card; $100 for a two-year card; and $125 for a three-year card.
In order to complete your application, you will need to send a 2×2 inch passport photo that was taken in the last 30 days. It is important to make sure this photo is taken with a solid colored background with nobody else in the photo with you. The easiest option is to visit your local passport photo service location and have them take your photo.
Along with your application and a photo, you will need to provide two forms of proof that you are an Illinois resident. Acceptable forms of proof include but are not limited to:
- Illinois Driver’s License
- Voter Card
- Bank Statements
- Utility bills with your name and address on them.
Possession and Cultivation of Medical Marijuana in Illinois
In 2017, the Prairie State deemed an “adequate supply” of medical cannabis at 2.5 ounces for every 14 days based on the patient’s qualifying condition(s), with the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act creating a state-wide registry excluding patients and caregivers from arrest and prosecution for possession of medical cannabis.
Additionally, it “allows for the registration of cultivation centers and dispensing organizations,” according to ProCon.org, a Britannica Group news source. Moreover, “a tax is imposed upon the privilege of cultivating medical cannabis at a rate of 7% of the sales price per ounce.” There are 19 certified state-approved cultivation centers in Illinois.
Caregivers in Illinois
A registered caregiver is someone licensed to provide assistance to a register qualifying patient with the purchase and use of medical cannabis. According to the Illinois Department of Public Health, an Illinois caregiver must be at least 21-years-old to purchase and help administer medical cannabis to a patient. Like the patient, the caregiver must also prove residency by submitting a driver’s license or state identification card. A caregiver must also undergo fingerprinting to prove they have not committed a felony. Lastly, a caregiver must submit a photo for card registration, which costs $75 with a patient application or $100 if applying without a patient.
Registered caregivers mays serve only one (1) patient at a time, and can receive no compensation for their services. The steps to become a caregiver in Illinois are as follows:
Frequently Asked Questions
It’s simple. Use the form at the top of this page to begin the process, and you can set up an appointment with a practitioner through Veriheal’s platform who can evaluate your health and confirm your qualifying condition. If you are approved, the practitioner will fill out the Physician Certification Form and you will receive a copy via email. Once you receive the form, you can use it to apply for your Illinois medical marijuana card.
No, the state does not offer any physician referrals, so Veriheal has set up shop in Illinois to assist residents who wish to apply for a medical marijuana card.
No, you cannot. All cannabis must be purchased at certified dispensaries that collaborate with one of the state’s cultivation centers.
Yes. Chronic pain is listed as a qualifying condition that makes patients eligible for a medical cannabis card in the state.
Yes. You must continue to keep your medical cannabis license card valid by paying all required state fees after you are approved.
Yes. To be approved for a medical cannabis license in the state, an applicant must provide either an Illinois state driver’s license or identification card to prove residency.
That depends on the state you are visiting. Before traveling, contact the state you are visiting to find out their medical cannabis rules and regulations.
The medical evaluation usually takes 10-15 minutes.
If you are not approved then your consultation is free. We entail a network of highly qualified medical practitioners who are willing to evaluate any patient to see if they qualify for medical cannabis. We have a very high approval rate, so if you are not approved you are refunded in full.
No. Driving or operating any kind of vehicle such as motor vehicle, boat, or aircraft while under influence of marijuana is not allowed.
No, you cannot. You can only get approved for medical marijuana from a practitioner that has registered with the Illinois medical marijuana program. Fill out the form at the top of the page, and Veriheal will set you up with a licensed physician.
This all depends on your recommending physician. If you have records supporting your qualifying condition, please provide them and upload them to the secure Veriheal platform.
The cost is $199 and that covers your consultation with a licensed IL practitioner registered with the state and an authorized certification for medical marijuana purchases if you are approved. For $379, you and a friend or family member can both get your cards.
No. The use of medical marijuana is prohibited in public places under the law.
Illinois allows medical cannabis patients to purchase all types of medicinal cannabis. Once you attain a card, you can buy flower, tincture, oils, concentrates, topicals, and edibles.
Sign up with the form at the top of this page, and we can get you an appointment in no time!