About Medical Marijuana in Ohio
Cannabis is illegal for recreational use in the U.S. state of Ohio, but ownership of up to 100 grams is decriminalized. Legislation was enacted in 2016 to allow a regulated system for the cultivation, sale, and possession of medical marijuana, but the system did not enter into force until 2017.
A law on medical marijuana, House Bill 523, adopted by Gov. John Kasich in 2016 and signed into law. The legislation permitted the use of medical cannabis in the form of edibles, oils, patches and vaporization by patients with 21 conditions, including cancer or chronic pain. Patients and their caregivers are permitted to have a supply of up to 90 days.
The Birthplace of Aviation has medical cannabis but does not permit recreational use. Approved in 2016, HB523 created a statewide program based on more than a dozen qualifying conditions; however, the Ohio Board of Pharmacy has delayed making the program affordable, according to a Cincinnati news report.
Though there are 57 medical cannabis dispensaries throughout the state and 700 certified doctors to qualify patients, the cost of medical cannabis manufactured by 33 cultivators remains too expensive for some of the 125,000 registered cardholders. The medical marijuana industry has also been tempered by many law since its passing four years ago, with several setting parameters for cultivating, prescribing and selling to patients,” reports WCPO, a local ABC station.
With up to 1,000 new medical cannabis cardholders approved monthly in 2020, Ohio will have to continue to serve citizens better based on news reports that the drug they need is too expensive to buy. For now, Ohio residents are reportedly traveling to Michigan to get medical cannabis. The Columbus Dispatch reports the news source receives constant citizen complaints, causing them to cross the border.
“Ohio marijuana cardholders have repeatedly told The Dispatch, both on the record and in private, that they travel to dispensaries north of the state line to save money,” reported the Columbus Dispatch in September 2020. Patients consistently list price as one of the biggest obstacles to buying the drug in Ohio.
In the meanwhile, Ohio has decriminalized small amounts of cannabis when found on a person, not charging them with any criminal offense, rather charging them a monetary fine. Surely continued medical cannabis legalization countrywide will have Ohio considering recreational use, as it did medicinally. It is only a matter of time.
What are the qualifying conditions in Ohio?
By Ohio law, medical marijuana can be used to treat 21 qualifying conditions:
A patient who is at least 18 years old and has one or more of the qualifying conditions, must be able to prove they are an Ohio resident by providing a valid state driver’s license or identification card. The patient must also pay a $50 annual card registration fee.
Becoming a Caregiver in Ohio
Ohio’s caregiver laws are straightforward, beginning with the patient assistant being at least 21 years old and able to prove their Ohio residency with a valid driver’s license or state identification card. The caregiver, who must be listed on the patient certification, must also pay a $50 annual card registration fee. Ohio caregivers can only care for two patients at a time per law.
Registration of a patient or caregiver will be valid from the date of issue and will expire one year later, the last day of the month it was given. The patient’s registration expires after six months if the patient is diagnosed as terminally ill.
Possession & Cultivation Limits
Unlike most states, Ohio has a tiered possession limit, allowing a certain amount of THC-infused cannabis products to a patient depending on the condition they have. A tier I medical cannabis cardholder can possess up to 8 ounces of THC that tests at 23% or less; and a tier II medical cannabis cardholder can have up to 5.3 ounces of THC that test above 23%, but not higher than 35%.
Certain types of products in Ohio are only allowed to have so much THC. While patches, lotions, creams, and additional topics can not exceed 26-55 grams of THC, cannabis oil, tincture, capsules, and all other edibles can not exceed 9.9 grams of THC. Up to 53.1 grams of THC is allowable specifically for oil that is to be vaporized.
Home cultivation is not permitted at this time in Ohio.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. You need to show an Ohio ID and show that you have an OH address.
In applying for a medical marijuana card, one must provide the following: full name, date of birth, address, telephone number, and email address if any, a valid ID, and at least 18 years of age, else you will need to provide consent from a parent or guardian. And a statement that indicates your age and residency. Book your appointment with a doctor to review your ailments and medical condition.
Qualifying patients may register with the medical marijuana program of Ohio. You will book an appointment with a doctor who will review your ailments and medical condition. Next, once you are evaluated and approved, you will receive a medical cannabis recommendation from our licensed OH doctor and be registered with the state.
No need to worry. We provide the Ohio physicians for you.
The medical evaluation usually takes 10-15 minutes.
If you are not approved then your consultation is free. We entail a network of highly qualified medical practitioners who are willing to evaluate any patient to see if they qualify for medical cannabis. We have a 99% approval rate so if you are not approved, you are refunded in full.
No. Driving or operating any kind of vehicle such as a motor vehicle, boat, or aircraft while under influence of marijuana is not allowed.
Sign up and we can get you approved in no time.
No, you can not. You can only get approved for medical marijuana from a practitioner that has registered with the Ohio medical marijuana program. And for that, we provide you a physician so you do not need to go through your primary care physicians.
The cost is $199 and that covers your medical evaluation, a consultation with a licensed OH practitioner registered with the state, and an authorized certification for medical marijuana purchases. For $379 you and a friend or family member can both get your cards for a nice little discount.
There is an additional state fee of $50 to submit the state application.
No. The medical marijuana is prohibited to be used in public places under the law.
OH has one of the most diverse medical marijuana programs, allowing all patients access to a variety of medical cannabis options. If you get your cannabis card in Ohio, you get access to:
Dry Flower, Tinctures, Oils, Concentrates, Topicals, Edibles
Yes! Check our homepage for a list of active states.