The Status of Cannabis Legalization in Delaware
Recently in Delaware cannabis reform, telehealth is now legal in the state. Patients can now book a virtual appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor through Veriheal.
The First State is so dedicated to its medical cannabis program that it allowed home delivery in April of 2020, so those who needed their prescriptions during COVID-19 would not do without, according to Delaware Business Now. The news source reported the East Coast region “opted to exempt medical marijuana from its normally strict no-delivery policies in keeping with efforts to discourage travel and remain true to the spirit of the system that helps people with chronic pain and other conditions.”
That is why the state permitted Colombia Care, a medical cannabis dispensary available in all three state counties, to bring medical cannabis right to patients’ doors. Following in Colombia Care’s footsteps, additional compassion centers made it available for curbside pick-up.
Speaking of COVID-19 and Delaware, two regional U.S. State Senators, Sharif Street of Philadelphia and Daylin Leach of Montgomery, propose legalizing cannabis for recreational use to stimulate the economy that has suffered severely from the pandemic. “I think the question is now—what do those circumstances look like, and let’s put a bill together that Democratic and Republican members can support,” Sen. Street told Erie News Now.
Additionally, Delaware has decriminalized cannabis and expunged the records of former residents charged with the possession of the plant without a medical license. Certainly, Delaware is moving forward on the recreational front, but until then it is definitely taking care of citizens who find relief from medicinal cannabis. Delaware is the 22nd state to legalize recreational cannabis, although consumers may have to wait up to two years before products become available.
Patient Qualifying Conditions
Since legalizing medicinal cannabis, Delaware has composed a list of qualifying conditions that make residents eligible for a state registered card including:
Additionally, the Delaware Health and Social Services department includes conditions that have failed treatment associated with autism with self-injurious or aggressive behavior, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe pain, intractable nausea, and acute and persistent muscle spasms.
If there is another condition that you or a loved one have found relief from with cannabis, then the state will consider the new disorder on your behalf. “Any citizen may petition the Department to add conditions or treatments to the list of debilitating medical conditions,” according to the state website.
Aside from having a condition and being certified by a physician, the patient and applicant must be at least 18 years of age and be a resident of the state with a driver’s license or state identification. The fee to apply for medical cannabis certification in Delaware is $50. It is non-refundable, giving applicants even more reason to use Veriheal, which offers a full refund if not approved for a card.
Becoming a Caregiver in Delaware
To be a certified medical cannabis caregiver in the state of Delaware, the applicant must meet specific qualifications including being at least 21 years of age, never having been convicted of a felony, agreeing to assist the patient with the medical use of cannabis, and being a state residence with a driver’s license or state identification proofing your current address.
Unlike other states that permit medicinal cannabis, Delaware allows caregivers to have up to five qualifying patients. The cost for a caregiver application is $125 and is non-refundable, which is why using Veriheal is ideal, always offering a full refund if not approved.
Possession and Cultivation in Delaware
Once approved, under the Delaware Medical Marijuana Act, patients are allowed to purchase and possess up to 3 ounces of cannabis every 14 days, equaling six ounces per month at the most.
There is absolutely no cultivation of cannabis in any form. If a patient is caught growing cannabis, they could face penalties.
Frequently Asked Questions
You can get your medical card in Delaware with the following steps:
1. Sign up with Veriheal for a consultation with a certified medical marijuana doctor in Delaware.
2. You’ll consult with a doctor virtually for 10-15 minutes to evaluate your ailments and ask any questions you may have about your medical marijuana treatment. If you are approved, the doctor will register you with the state of Delaware.
3. You will then be able to pay your $50 patient fee to the state. The state will process your application and mail you a medical card. You can then begin purchasing from dispensaries.
To qualify for medical cannabis in Delaware, patients must be 18 years old with proof of Delaware residency and a written diagnosis for one or more of the following qualifying conditions from a Delaware licensed MD, DO, APRN, or PA:
No, patients cannot grow their own medical cannabis. Patients can only purchase cannabis at a dispensary or a compassionate care center.
As of 2022, medical marijuana patients in Delaware are able to purchase all types of medical marijuana products such as dry cannabis flower, pre-rolls, edibles, vapes, extracts in dispensaries.
The fee to apply for medical cannabis certification in Delaware is $50.
Yes, residents need medical marijuana certification to purchase cannabis products at a dispensary in Delaware.
After the state receives your application, it may take 2-4 weeks to process and mail your medical cannabis card.
Patients must be 18 or older to qualify for a medical cannabis card in Delaware.
No, Delaware does not currently accept out-of-state medical cards.
Patients and caregivers can purchase and possess up to 3 ounces of cannabis every 14 days, equaling six ounces per month at the most.