About Cannabis in Rhode Island
In recent Rhode Island cannabis news, beginning December 2022, Rhode Island medical marijuana patients no longer have to pay $50 to obtain a medical card, a change that coincided with the start of recreational marijuana sales.
With only a C+ as the overall grade for its statewide medical cannabis program, according to Americans for Safe Access (ASA). Little Rhody could be offering much more to the 17,994 registered patients who depend on the state for medical relief. ASA’s grade is based on patient rights and civil protection, ease of navigation, access to medicine, and functionality. Rhode Island’s medical cannabis program became effective in 2006. Two concerns that should be addressed in 2021 are the high price of medical cannabis and the discrimination against patients who are state employees.
While Rhode Island is working out its kinks, the C+ could turn into a B if the New England state takes some suggestions. “In 2020, the state expanded its number of licensed retailers, adding six new licenses to improve patient access,” reports ASA, a Washington-based organization. “The state also introduced proposals for state-run cannabis retail facilities in 2020, an effort proposed by a few other states in previous years that were unsuccessful due to the conflict of federal and state cannabis laws.”
According to the Rhode Island Monthly, the Plantation State’s recreational stance on cannabis sways with political opinion. However, no matter whose point of view, numbers don’t discriminate.
“In the last six years, the number of card-holding medical marijuana patients in Rhode Island has more than tripled from 4,849 in 2013 to 17,891 in 2019,” reports the local news source, adding that in the last three years, dispensaries shattered sales records. In fiscal 2019, they sold $56 million worth of marijuana, a 46.6 percent increase over fiscal 2018, when they did $38.2 million in business — up more than a third from fiscal 2017’s $28.2 million.”
Qualifying Conditions in RI
Adult patients and patients younger than 18 must meet certain requirements for DOH approval. For minors, the patient’s parent or legal guardian must be designated as their caregiver and/or authorized purchaser.
Residents of Rhode Island who have been diagnosed with a qualifying debilitating medical condition have the right to obtain and use medical cannabis if they have received a physician’s written certification form.
- Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
- Cancer or cancer treatment including chemotherapy and radiation therapy
- Glaucoma or glaucoma treatment
- Hepatitis C or treatment for hepatitis C
- Seizures, including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe, debilitating, or chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of:
Along with having a qualifying condition, a patient must also be able to prove they are a Rhode Island resident with a current state driver’s license or identification card, or any other state accepted proof of residency. Once approved, a patient must pay a $50 card registration fee, which is reduced for residents who are on SSI, SSD, Medicaid, or U.S. Military veterans.
Registering a Caregiver
A Rhode Island caregiver, like a patient, must be a resident of the state and able to prove they are with a current driver’s license, state identification card, or another state-approved document. The caregiver must undergo a criminal background check in order to be approved. Once designated by a patient, and approved, a caregiver can purchase medical cannabis on behalf of those they assist. Rhode Island only allows one caregiver per patient.
Possession and Cultivation
Rhode Island possession and cultivation laws for both patients and caregivers are the same. Either can possess up to 12 mature plants if they are cultivating cannabis personally, or have up to 2.5 ounces of smokeable flower. Said plants have to be stored in an indoor facility.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. You need to submit proof of residency with your application to the state.
No need to worry. We provide the Rhode Island physicians for you.
The first step is to get certified for medical marijuana treatment by a doctor. After you are approved, you’ll submit an application to the state and once you have a card in hand, you can begin purchasing marijuana legally.
The medical evaluation usually takes 10-15 minutes.
If you are not approved then your consultation is free. We entail a network of highly qualified medical practitioners who are willing to evaluate any patient to see if they qualify for medical cannabis. We have a 99% approval rate so if you are not approved, you are refunded in full.
Fill out the form at the top of this page and we can get you approved in no time!
No, you can not. You can only get approved for medical marijuana from a practitioner that has registered with the Rhode Island medical marijuana program. And for that, we provide you a physician so you do not need to go through your primary care physicians.
Yes, it does! RI now allows people with chronic pain to be approved for medical marijuana use.
There are many different strains of medical marijuana that provide different types of relief. Our registered physicians will be able to recommend different options.
The cost is $199 and that covers your medical evaluation, your consultation with a licensed Rhode Island practitioner registered with the state, and an authorized certification for medical marijuana purchases. For $379 you and a friend or family member can both get your cards for a nice little discount.
No. The medical marijuana is prohibited to be used in public places under the law.
RI has one of the most diverse medical marijuana programs, allowing all patients access to a variety of medical cannabis options. Products include dry cannabis flower, pre-rolls, vaporizers, concentrates and extracts, tinctures, topicals, and edibles.