About Cannabis in Louisiana
The Bayou State made a significant change in the Louisiana Therapeutic Marijuana Act in August 2020 by broadening HB819 to allow any state-licensed physician to recommend medical cannabis to a patient they deem would benefit from it. This is a far cry from the state cannabis program that took almost four years to start up since legalization in 2016.
Though legislators had a list of qualifying conditions that made patients eligible for the program, the high cost of treatment has kept many from being able to afford medical cannabis, according to a local CBS news station. After a four-year hold-up, Louisiana set the bar for the Deep South States by broadening the program by allowing “doctors to recommend medical marijuana for any patient they believe it would help.” Only time will tell if expanding the program will curb high costs of treatment some citizens can’t seem to afford.
Meanwhile, becoming a Louisiana medical cannabis cardholder is much easier than in 2019, with all state-certified doctors prescribing the plant in several forms, including oils, extracts, tinctures, sprays, capsules, pills, gelatin-based chewables, topicals, transdermal patches, and suppositories. The law does not allow smokable forms of marijuana at this time.
Applying for Medical Marijuana in Louisiana
Unlike other states, there is no particular application program in the state of Louisiana that must be completed to apply for medical marijuana. Initially, patients will have to meet a doctor to talk about their condition. Once you obtain a valid doctor’s recommendation and are finally entitled to medicinal cannabis in the state, you will be registered to the program, at which time you can visit a cannabis pharmacy to purchase legal medication.
But it’s not always an easy task to find a medical doctor in Louisiana that can recommend you for medical cannabis. There are conflicting reports about how many doctors actually qualify to issue marijuana recommendations in the state.
Veriheal took the difficult part of the equation and simplified the whole process of medical marijuana approval. For a quick consultation, Veriheal will connect you with an approved healthcare professional so you can access your medicine as quickly as possible.
Before the Bayou State medical cannabis program broadened in 2020, the following conditions were the only disorders eligible for treatment:
However, that changed. Now according to the law, any health disorder that “a physician, in his medical opinion, considers debilitating to an individual patient and is qualified through his medical education and training to treat.” Therefore, the Louisiana medical cannabis card program is expanding to allow physicians to prescribe medical cannabis for treatment of conditions outside of the original list of qualifying conditions.
Now with the expanded program and Veriheal’s assistance, Louisiana locals can receive a physician consultation and approval for $199, with a full money back guarantee if you are not approved.
Once approved, patients must pay a $75 state registration fee to validate the card. Additionally, all patients must be able to prove residency, supplying a valid driver’s license or state identification card upon application.
Caregivers in Louisiana
A Louisiana caregiver must be at least 21-years-old to purchase and help administer medical cannabis to a patient. Like the patient, the caregiver must also prove residency by submitting a driver’s license or state identification card. Additionally, a caregiver must submit a photo for card registration, which costs $75.
Possession and Cultivation Limits of Medical Marijuana in Louisiana
Louisiana allows patients to possess up to a 30-day supply of medical cannabis in any form other than flower. The state has two medical cannabis facilities that produce different forms of cannabis, including oil, tincture, topicals, capsules, gelatin-based chewables, and inhalers, all of which are sold in nine state-wide pharmacies conveniently located throughout Louisiana.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, all applicants must provide a state issued driver’s license or identification card to prove their place of residence or they are not eligible for a card.
Meeting with a licensed Louisiana physician.
The first step is to schedule a physician appointment with Veriheal. After the appointment and all medical records are uploaded and evaluated by the physician, he or she will recommend certification if you are approved.
From start to finish, the physician consultation usually takes 10-15 minutes.
The state of Louisiana requires that you buy any medical cannabis prescriptions from state approved dispensaries. Raw smokeable flower is not sold in the state; however, several other forms of cannabis are prescribed, including oils, extracts, tinctures, sprays, capsules, pills, gelatin-based chewables, topicals, transdermal patches, and suppositories.
Veriheal has a very high approval rate for medical cannabis licensure. However, if you are not approved, you will be refunded in full.
Louisiana considers “intractable pain” as a qualifying condition for medical cannabis.
No. Driving or operating any kind of vehicle such as a motor vehicle, boat, or aircraft while under influence of marijuana is not allowed.
No. The use of medical marijuana is prohibited in public places under the law.