The Status of Cannabis Legalization in WV
In recent West Virginia cannabis reform, The House Committee on Health and Human Resources passed House Bill 2756. If officially passed, this bill would require medical marijuana be added to the controlled substance monitoring database.
On April 19, 2017, West Virginia passed Senate Bill 386, creating the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act. This act allows West Virginia residents with serious medical conditions to purchase cannabis in the form of pills, topical products like gels, vape/nebulization products, tinctures, dermal patches, and dried cannabis flower. Licensed dispensaries will not allow patients to purchase edibles, but medical cannabis products can be mixed into food and drinks by the patient after purchase.
Over the years that followed, the state worked on creating regulations for who could access medical cannabis, licensing businesses to grow and sell it, and developing a regulatory framework. Despite some delays, the state issued licenses to cannabis businesses in 2019 and 2020, moving closer to providing medical cannabis to eligible patients.
This Act also provides funding for medical cannabis research for serious medical conditions as well as revenue to the Substance Abuse Fund and the Division of Justice and Community Services. In addition, it will provide grants to law enforcement agencies for training on drugs and addiction. A 10% tax applies to medical cannabis purchases for patients or caregivers.
Now, the state has over 7,000 registered medical cannabis patients and 9 operating licensed medical cannabis dispensaries.
Medical Marijuana Program Qualifying Conditions and Costs
The following serious medical conditions can help you qualify for a medical cannabis card in the state of West Virginia under the Medical Cannabis Act:
Along with having a qualifying condition, a medical cannabis patient who lives in West Virginia must prove their residency with a valid driver’s license or state identification card. Additionally, the patient must pay a $50 annual card registration fee that must be renewed annually at the same price.
Click here for the request form to add qualifying medical conditions to be covered under the law in West Virginia.
A West Virginia resident who wants to become a caregiver must be at least 21 years old and prove their state address with a valid driver’s license or identification card. A caregiver must submit an application online for a medical cannabis identification card and undergo a criminal history background check.
In addition, a caregiver must meet one of the following guidelines:
- Be designated by a patient or if the patient is under 18, they must be the legal guardian of the patient.
- An individual designated by the patient or legal guardian.
- An individual approved by the West Virginia Bureau of Public Health upon sufficient showing that no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available.
Possession and Cultivation
West Virginia’s medical cannabis possession limits are open-ended, with medical cannabis patients allowed to possess up to a 30-day supply based on the physician’s recommended amount. There is absolutely no home cultivation allowed in the state. West Virginia permits medical cannabis in various forms, including a pill, oil, topical like gels or ointments, tincture, liquid, dermal patch, and dry leaf, but edibles cannot be purchased.
Frequently Asked Questions
Physicians in Veriheal’s network can prescribe West Virginia patients medical cannabis and provide you with the necessary forms to apply with the state. In addition, the WV Office of Medical Cannabis’ website has a preliminary list of physicians to contact, but there is no formal referral program.
Veriheal can connect you with a medical cannabis doctor to approve you for medical cannabis access. Along with being diagnosed with a qualifying condition, a medical cannabis patient who lives in West Virginia must prove their residency with a valid driver’s license or state identification card. Additionally, the patient must pay a $50 annual card registration fee that must be renewed annually at the same price.
The following medical conditions qualify patients for a medical cannabis card in the state of West Virginia under the Medical Cannabis Act:
Yes. In order to be approved for a WV medical cannabis license, you must provide a state license or ID card to prove your identity as well as a copy of a utility bill, or voter registration that shows your address for residency purposes.
West Virginia’s medical cannabis program is still relatively new, and product selection is limited at this time. Medical cannabis patients can purchase dry cannabis flower, concentrates and extracts, vaporizers, topicals, and some oral products such as capsules and tinctures.
Edibles (e.g., infused cookies, candy, etc.) are currently not available in medical dispensaries in WV.
The medical cannabis card for West Virginia is only valid in the state currently. Beginning on April 21, 2021 patients may apply for a Safe Harbor Letter that allows patients to purchase medical cannabis in other states that have agreements with West Virginia. The state does not currently have any reciprocity agreements set up with other states and does not offer any legal protections for patients who obtain cannabis out of state.
Yes, the process for renewing your card with Veriheal is simple in West Virginia. Annually, Veriheal will get in touch with you when your certification is approaching its expiration to help you set up a renewal consultation.