About Cannabis in Nevada
In recent Nevada cannabis news, Senate Bill 277 was passed, allowing dispensaries to obtain dual licenses, allowing them to serve both medical patients and adult-use customers. The bill also increases the allowable purchasing limit to 2.5 ounces.
What happens in Las Vegas doesn’t have to stay there anymore as far as cannabis is concerned, with Nevada allowing both recreational and medicinal use. The Battle Born state is so progressive that Clark County just approved yet another drive-thru cannabis dispensary, making picking up product easier, reports the Las Vegas Review-Journal. With an unanimous commissioner vote, officials from the unincorporated county said it had to be done due to COVID-19.
“Commissioner Tick Segerblom said the pandemic proved that regular operation of a dispensary without a drive-thru option is limiting for many people,” reports the Las Vegas news source. “As a state senator, Segerblom spearheaded the effort to legalize recreational marijuana in Nevada.”
And this isn’t the first time they made purchasing cannabis by car available, first legalizing it in 2017. NuWu, a cannabis mega-store built on Las Vegas Paiute tribal lands, made it possible three years ago since customers said it was time, according to Kevin Clock.
What was once a bank vault window is now opening to serve dozens of dispensary customers. Since 2017, Nevada, with both legal recreational and medicinal use, and ten other U.S. states walk a fine line in manufacturing and selling cannabis for notably different uses.
“The cost of cannabis is drastically different between medical and recreational use products. Medicinal cannabis products generally cost less than what you would find in the recreational use market,” Veriheal reports in January 2020. “The reason for this is largely due to the taxes imposed.”
With both medicinal and recreational use allowable in Nevada, patients and residents can benefit from the plant freely regardless of why they are using it.
Along with having a qualifying condition, a patient must prove they are a resident of Nevada with a valid driver’s license or a state identification card. The application fee for state registration is $50 annually or $100 for a two-year registration made payable to the Nevada State Health Division.
Possession and Cultivation
The possession/cultivation of cannabis limits vary for registered medicinal cardholders and caregivers and for recreational users. When cannabis is prescribed for a certain disorder, the purchasing power is greater with fewer taxes and the ability to possess more. A registered medical cannabis patient can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis at a time and cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants as long as they live at least 25 miles from a medical dispensary. In some cases, a caregiver can become exempt from the 25-mile exemption.
Like a registered cardholder, Nevada caregivers must prove they are residents of the state with a driver’s license or identification card. Additionally, a caregiver must be 21 years of age or older.
There are specific possession laws for caregivers, who are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces every two weeks on behalf of their patient, surpassing the one ounce recreational limit every two weeks. Additionally, as a Nevada caregiver, one may be able to find themselves exempt from the state rule that bars cultivation within 25 miles of an operational dispensary.
Lastly, as reported by Veriheal, Nevada offers up to 10% medical cannabis savings as opposed to recreational sales. “In the US, each state is responsible for how it levies taxes on goods that move within its jurisdictions. Cannabis is no different,” reports Veriheal. “The way states levy taxes is completely individual to each state. So, the tax rates will vary drastically across the country.”
Frequently Asked Questions
The cost for the medical marijuana evaluation with Veriheal is $199, with a full guarantee that you will get your money back if not approved. As for the state of Nevada, they charge $25 for the state card application fee once approved by Veriheal.
Yes. Chronic pain is a qualifying condition that makes residents eligible for the statewide medical cannabis program.
Yes. To be approved for a medical cannabis license in the state of Nevada, an applicant must provide either a state driver’s license or identification card to prove they live at a specific address.
Medical cannabis patients in Nevada are able to purchase a wide variety of products at their local dispensary. Products include dry cannabis flower, edibles, pre-rolls, vaporizers, concentrates, topicals and tinctures.