The Status of Cannabis Legalization in Utah
Utah’s statewide medical cannabis program was voted into law in 2018, and the state has finally opened all 14 cannabis dispensaries outlined in Prop 2.
For now, the more than 2,800 registered cardholders in the statewide medical cannabis program are beholden to only a handful of dispensaries. The upside to the downside of limited dispensaries is that Utah allows the sale of cannabis in several forms including tablet, capsule, concentrated oil, liquid suspension, topical preparation, transdermal preparation, gelatinous cube, Unprocessed cannabis flower in a blister pack containing no more than one gram of flower pods in each individual blister, and wax or resin.
As state and federal laws continue to change from year to year on medicinal and recreational cannabis use, assuredly Utah will be modifying its program as patients and citizens demand Utah keep up with what they promised.
Possession of Medical Cannabis Prior to 2021
Prior to January 2021, under Utah law, patients meeting certain criteria outlined in the Medical Cannabis Act may legally possess medical cannabis without a medical cannabis card. Compliance with the Utah Medical Cannabis Act may not protect patients from liability for violations of federal law or the laws of other states. Questions regarding this provision of the law are best answered by an attorney who can provide legal counsel specific to an individual’s situation.
Medical marijuana Patients 18 and older, a parent or legal guardian of a minor patient, and designated caregivers may purchase medical cannabis. Each must have a Utah medical cannabis card.
Utah Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions
According to the state, medical cannabis in Utah is also available to allow residents who suffer from “pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions” or have “a rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions.”
Conditions qualifying patients for medical cannabis under the Utah Medical Cannabis Program include:
Along with having qualifying medical conditions, a patient applying for the medical cannabis program in Utah must prove their residency with a valid driver’s license or current state identification card. The annual card registration fee is $50 and must be paid when approved.
If you don’t have one of the qualifying medical conditions listed, your certified physician can appeal to the Compassionate Use Board if they feel your condition can benefit from the use of medical marijuana.
Laws for Registered Caregivers
Utah has set up a caregiver application process completely online, beginning with the registered patient designating a caregiver on their application. After a caregiver has been named, they must prove they are a Utah resident with a valid driver’s license or current state identification card. The caregiver must also undergo a background check to be approved for the Guardian Card. Once approved, a caregiver license fee of $68.25 must be paid. If the caregiver has two patients, the secondary license is only $15.
Possession and Cultivation
Utah has specific possession laws regarding medical cannabis, reporting a patient is not allowed “more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (raw bud or flower in blister packs),” or “more than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms. There is absolutely no cultivation of cannabis allowed in Utah.
Application Process for a Medical Marijuana Card in Utah
The application process for any Utah resident looking for a Medical cannabis patient card must be done by completing the following steps:
- First, you’ll need to meet with a qualified medical provider (QMP) registered with the state of Utah to evaluate your medical condition. Luckily Veriheal can provide you with one so you won’t have to locate a qualified provider yourself. Remember: Don’t start your application process without meeting with your QMP first.
- Next, go to id.utah.gov and create a Utah ID account. This account allows you to access different state applications all in one place. Here you’ll be able to start your application inside the electronic verification system (EVS). Your QMP will be able to issue your medical cannabis recommendation once your EVS profile is created. There’s a $15 application fee to send the application online to the Utah Department of Health (UDOH).
- After the Utah Department of Health receives and later reviews the application there is a 15 day turnaround time from the date the application is submitted for approval or denial if the patient is 21 years of age or older. The Compassionate Use Board will review applications for patients under 21 years of age and adult patients without a qualifying condition. The turnaround time for those applications are 90 days or less from the date the application is submitted.
- When the application is approved the Utah Department of Health will email your medical cannabis card.
- After receiving your card you’ll be able to legally purchase medical cannabis products in Utah. To buy marijauna from a medical cannabis pharmacy you need to have your cannabis card along with a valid photo ID such as a driver’s license, state ID or passport.
Frequently Asked Questions
The cost for the medical marijuana evaluation and approval with Veriheal is $199, with a full refund if not approved. Additionally, the state of Utah charges an annual registration fee of $50 when approved.
You must be at least 18 years of age and be able to prove your residency in the state of Utah with a current driver’s license or state identification card and have one of the qualifying conditions from which Veriheal provided physicians are allowed to approve patients for.
Utah does not currently have a reciprocity agreement with any other state. This means medical marijuana pharmacies in Utah will not honor any out of state MMJ card. However there are states that will accept Utah MMJ cards including Nevada, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Arizona, Arkansas, Main and Massachusetts.
As of October 2021, all 14 medical cannabis pharmacies are licensed to operate in the state of Utah.
Medical cannabis patients can access a wide variety of cannabis products in Utah dispensaries. Products include dry cannabis flower, pre-rolls, vaporizers, concentrates and extracts, tinctures, topicals, and edibles.