About Cannabis in Michigan
The Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) wasted no time getting patients the relief they needed once the state legalized prescribed cannabis in 2008. Then in 2019, the Great Lake State legalized the recreational use of cannabis, with retail sales beginning in December of that year. Since then, there’s been a multiple million dollar difference in state finances.
A July 2020 Lansing City Pulse news report detailed that “state records show that recreational marijuana sales climbed more than eightfold since December and have rested at more than $10 million weekly since last month.” Additionally, Michigan medical cannabis sales also “skyrocketed,” according to the news report, adding that prescribed products “landed just under $10 million from June 8 to 14.”
Michigan, like so many other states that have legalized both medicinal and recreational cannabis use, are seeing the immediate financial gain from sales, giving even more states the idea to expand their statewide marijuana programs beyond just medical cannabis use.
Qualifying Conditions and Cost for Medical Cannabis Registration in Michigan
According to the Marijuana Regulatory Agency, Michigan has more than a dozen conditions that qualify residents for a medical cannabis card. The list includes the following debilitating conditions:
Michigan also considers “chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces 1 or more of the following”:
Along with having one or more of the qualifying conditions, a patient applying for a medical cannabis card in Michigan must also prove their residency with a valid driver’s license or state identification card. There is also a $40 medical cannabis card registration fee, which must be renewed annually at the same cost. If a patient has Medicaid or receives SSI, they are eligible for a reduced card cost of $25 annually.
Apply for a Michigan Medical Cannabis Card
Once you have seen the doctor and have been approved, you can begin the application to register with the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) with the Michigan Marijuana Regulatory Agency.
First, you will create an online account. While filling out the application, you will need to verify your address and submit proof of residency. Acceptable forms of proof of residency include a state driver’s license number or personal identification (PID), or a signed Michigan voter registration. If using your voter registration, then you’ll also need to provide an additional valid government-issued document with your name and birthdate.
You will also need to provide the Michigan physician license number, your physician certification, and pay the $40 fee for the state application.
Caregiver Information for Michigan
A caregiver, like the patient, must first prove Michigan residency before applying for a card. Michigan accepts either a current driver’s license or state identification card as adequate proof. Expired forms of identification are not accepted. Additionally, the caregiver must be added to the patient’s registration to be considered.
Lastly, a caregiver must be at least 21-years-old and not have a felony conviction to be able to assist a patient in the medical cannabis program. The cost for a caregiver card is $40, recently reduced from $60 in 2019. Caregivers are not required to pay for a criminal background check.
Possession and Cultivation of Medical Marijuana in Michigan
In Michigan, the state allows any adult to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis on their person, with up to 15 grams of it being marijuana concentrate. Additionally, a resident is allowed to possess up to 10 ounces of cannabis at their residence. The state mandates that any adult who possesses more than 2.5 ounces of cannabis at their residence must procure it in a container.
“Possession of more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana and up to 5.0 ounces of marijuana is a civil infraction punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and forfeiture of the marijuana for a first offense,” according to the state. Furthermore, the state of Michigan mandates that “an adult may transfer up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana to another adult as long as there is no remuneration and the transfer is not advertised or promoted to the public.”
Michigan now allows citizens to grow marijuana even if they are not medical marijuana cardholders. Adults 21-years-old or older may now legally grow up to 12 plants.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. The state accepts either a current driver’s license or personal identification card as adequate forms of identification. You can also use a signed voter registration if you also submit a government-issued document that includes your name and date of birth for verification.
First, you will need to see a licensed physician in Michigan who can certify you for medical marijuana if you are approved. Veriheal can help you set up your initial consultation with them. Once you are approved, you will receive a recommendation letter from the physician, and you can begin to fill out the application for the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP).
Veriheal provides a list of licensed physicians with whom you can make a convenient consultation appointment to discuss your qualifying condition(s).
The medical evaluation usually takes 10-15 minutes from start to finish.
No. Michigan has strict laws that prohibit using cannabis and operating any kind of vehicle.
No. You can only get approved for medical cannabis by a certified Michigan doctor who is registered with the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP).
Yes, chronic pain is one of the qualifying conditions, according to the Michigan Marijuana Regulatory Agency.
Yes. Michigan allows patients and non-patients who are 21-years-old or older to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis away from home or up to 10 ounces at home.
The cost is $199. That covers your medical evaluation with a licensed Michigan practitioner and an authorized certification for medical cannabis. For $379, Veriheal will assist in certifying you and a family member or friend.
No. Michigan only allows medicinal and recreational use of cannabis in the privacy of your home.
If you are not approved, then your consultation is free. We entail a network of highly qualified medical practitioners who are willing to evaluate any patient to see if they qualify for medical cannabis. We have a very high approval rate so if you are not approved, you are refunded in full.
Fill out the form at the top of this page, so Veriheal can set you up with an appointment with a medical marijuana doctor.