About Cannabis in Missouri
In 2018, 66% of Missourians voted to legalize medical cannabis; however, as of August of 2020, the state still has not opened one medical dispensary for the nearly 60,000 patients waiting to buy prescriptions for needed relief, reports The Joplin Globe.
“The number of Missourians granted medical marijuana patient cards has more than doubled from last year, but with ongoing delays because of factors such as COVID-19, many are left wondering when dispensaries will be open with products readily available,” according to the local Missouri news source.
Meanwhile, in January 2020, a letter from the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services stated that, “it is a difficult reality that there is no legal method of initially acquiring marijuana, unless that marijuana is somehow discovered in the wild.” The letter goes on to argue that medical marijuana cardholders have the right to possess marijuana.
With cannabis cultivators predicting a healthy September 2020 crop, residents will have to wait until the summer of 2021 before medical cannabis hits the shelves for purchase by medical marijuana cardholders. And when that happens, the balance of supply and demand will be way off; it is predicted that dispensaries will immediately run out of product. In the meantime, Missouri residents wait as patiently as possible for the state to make good on the 66% vote residents cast back in 2018.
Qualifying Conditions in Missouri
Missouri began its medical cannabis program in 2018 with a lengthy list of qualifying conditions, unlike some states that start with a short list and add qualifying conditions as time goes on. According to the Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services, qualifying conditions include:
- A terminal illness
- Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
- A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with:
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to:
- A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with prescription medications that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
- In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to:
Along with having a qualifying condition, applicants must provide proof of residency in Missouri with a valid state driver’s license or identification card. The cost for a Missouri medical cannabis card is $25, which must be renewed annually to stay valid in the statewide registry.
Registering a Caregiver in Missouri
To be a caregiver for a Missouri resident, the caregiver must also be a resident of the state and be able to provide proof of residency with a valid driver’s license or identification card. They must also be added to the patient’s medical cannabis certification application as the listed caregiver. In the state of Missouri, caregivers are allowed to assist three patients at a time. Additionally, a patient can have up to two caregivers in Missouri.
Possession and Cultivation of Medical Marijuana in Missouri
State law limits the purchase of medical marijuana to 4 ounces every 30 days.
For an additional $100, patients may apply for the patient cultivation identification card. Missouri law specifies that up to two individuals who have patient cultivation identification cards may cultivate medical marijuana in one space. The two individuals may be two patients, two caregivers, or a patient and a caregiver. Up to 12 mature, flowering cannabis plants may be cultivated in this situation. Additionally, there may be up to 12 immature, non-flowering plants and 12 clones. Note that if one of the individuals is a patient as well as a caregiver then the number of plants increases to an additional 6 mature plants, 6 non-flowering plants, and 6 clones.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, all applicants must provide a Missouri state issued driver’s license or identification card to prove their place of residence. Otherwise, they are not eligible for a medical cannabis card.
The first and most important step is to schedule a physician appointment with Veriheal. You will need to upload your medical records. After the appointment and if you are approved, the physician will recommend certification for medical marijuana treatment.
From start to finish, the physician consultation takes 10-15 minutes.
Though the state has a medical cannabis program in place, Missouri has yet to open any dispensaries. Most Missouri dispensaries are not expected to begin selling any form of the plant until the summer of 2021.
Veriheal has a very high approval rate for medical cannabis licensure; however, if you are not approved, you will be refunded in full.
Yes, Missouri considers severe, persistent pain as a qualifying condition for medical cannabis.