The Status of Cannabis Legalization in Oregon
Oregon’s legal cannabis history began in 1998 with the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act and was the second state to legalize medical cannabis. This act modified the state law in order to allow possession and cultivation, as well as allow doctors to prescribe cannabis for their patients suffering from specific medical conditions.
On November 3 2020, the citizens of Oregon voted yes on Oregon Measure 109 and Oregon Measure 110. Measure 109, the Psilocybin Services Act, creates a program for people ages 21 and older to purchase, possess, and consume psilocybin mushrooms at a psilocybin service center and under the supervision of a psilocybin service facilitator after attending a preparation session. The Oregon Health Authority (OHA) has two years to establish a program for public consumption of psilocybin mushrooms, dosage guidelines, and facility licensure protocols. The measure allows cities and counties to place refendrums on their local ballots to allow or disapprove mushrooms from being grown or distributed in their area.
Oregon Measure 110, The Drug Decriminalization and Addiction Treatment Initiative, will help cut down the number of incarcerated people for possession of Schedule 1-4 drugs such as heroin, cocaine and methamphetamine. People who are caught selling these drugs will still be upheld to current distribution charges.
Instead of receiving a class A misdemeanor for possession, people will receive a Class E citation and $100 fine for or a health assessment for possession of these drugs. The health assessment will be conducted by addiction recovery centers and includes a substance use disorder screening by a licensed drug and alcohol abuse professional. This service will be established by the OHA and would provide grants to fund the government or community-run organizations to help fund and create addiction recovery centers.
Application Process and Requirements
Individuals who wish to participate in the medical cannabis program must register with the OHA to become eligible. Patients with a qualifying medical condition and a recommendation for medical cannabis from an attending physician may apply for a medical marijuana card online.
The requirements are:
- Complete and submit an application.
- Submit a complete attending physician’s statement.
- Provide a valid state or federal ID for the patient.
- Designate a primary caregiver and grower, if applicable.
- Pay a mandatory $200 application and card fee. An optional grow site registration fee is an additional $200.
Oregon charges patients $200 for new applications and renewals, and also offers reduced fees for citizens in need of financial assistance. The charges only $60 for persons receiving state food stamps, $50 for residents who fall under the Oregon Health Plan, and $20 for persons receiving SSI benefits or members of the U.S. Military.
In Oregon, the state allows caregivers to be at least 18 years of age, as opposed to some states that mandate 21 years of age. Like a patient, caregivers must also prove that they are a resident of Oregon with a valid driver’s license or state identification card. Any caregiver requested must be listed as the patient’s particular assistant to be considered.
Patients and caregivers are allowed to possess a certain amount of medical cannabis without penalty. Based on the state law a patient or caregiver can legally have up to 24 ounces of cannabis flower, 16 ounces of cannabis-infused products in solid form, 72 fluid ounces of cannabis-infused products in liquid form, 5 grams of cannabis extracts and concentrates, 50 cannabis seeds, or four immature cannabis flower plants. A patient and their caregiver may possess up to 6 mature plants, which must be grown at a registered grow site address.
Possession and Cultivation
Any Oregon resident, caregiver or not, that cultivates or processes medical cannabis must undergo a background check. The cost of the mandatory background check is $35, and if approved a $200 payment for a cultivation license must also be paid. A grower must be at least 21 years of age, and is not allowed to cultivate cannabis for more than eight patients at a time, with six flower plants per patient.
Oregon’s Legalized Marijuana Initiative, Measure 91 passed in November 2014. This measure legalizes recreational cannabis use for adults ages 21 and over. Oregon residents of age are allowed to possess up to 8 oz of dried flower and up to four plants for personal use on private property (private possession limits). Meanwhile, while in public, recreational users may possess up to 1 oz of dried flower and up to four immature plants.
Frequently Asked Questions
The cost for the medical marijuana evaluation and approval with Veriheal is $199, with a full guarantee if not approved. The state of Oregon charges an additional $200 for an annual registration, but offers reduced rates for residents who receive food stamps or SSI.
Yes; however, in Oregon it is called severe pain.
Yes. To be approved for a medical cannabis license in Oregon an applicant must provide either a state license or identification card to prove their residency.
You must be at least 18 years of age and be able to provide residency with a current driver’s license or state identification card.
If you are not approved then your consultation is free. Veriheal has a network of highly qualified medical practitioners who are willing to evaluate any patient for medical cannabis. We have a very high approval rate so if you are not approved, you are refunded in full
Medical cannabis patients can access a wide variety of cannabis products in Oregon dispensaries. Products include dry cannabis flower, pre-rolls, vaporizers, concentrates and extracts, tinctures, topicals, and edibles.
Yes, renewing your medical cannabis card in Oregon is simple with Veriheal. In Oregon, patients will need to re-certify their license annually by seeing a licensed physician again. Veriheal will get in touch with you when your certification is approaching its expiration to help you setup a renewal consultation.