Do I Qualify?

Make an Appointment

Content Hub


Find a Dispensary Read Articles


Applying for your medical marijuana card is easier than ever. Just book an appointment. Talk to a doctor. And get your card. Bing. Bam. Boom.

Marijuana Doctors

Get your medical marijuana card

Cannabis Consultation

One on one with a cannabis coach

Patient Login

Sign in to your Veriheal patient account

News, Politics

Buying Recreational Marijuana in Missouri

Ashley Priest

by Ashley Priest

March 23, 2023 08:00 am ET Estimated Read Time: 6 Minutes
Buying Recreational Marijuana in Missouri

Missouri is home to an estimated population of roughly 6 million residents. The state is popular for the agriculture industry, barbecue, and historic landmarks like the Gateway Arch. Missouri borders eight states and is a gateway to adventure in the land of legal cannabis. Six of the eight states surrounding Missouri have very strict cannabis laws. Kansas, Nebraska, Iowa, Indiana, Kentucky, and Tennessee all have laws that do not favor cannabis consumers. Missouri’s nickname “The Show-Me” is a testament to these states. You might say that Missouri is showing them exactly how beneficial cannabis legalization is not only to the state but to the citizens that live there too. So let’s explore these new laws and how residents can buy marijuana in Missouri.

Medical cannabis was legalized in the state of Missouri back in Nov 2018 with the passing of Amendment 2. A government website says, “On November 6, 2018, 65% of Missouri voters passed Amendment 2, legalizing the medical use of marijuana for qualifying Missouri patients.” The program saw success and helped usher in adult-use recreational cannabis for the state. In Nov of 2022, the state of Missouri legalized recreational cannabis with the passing of Amendment 3, making it legal for any adult 21 years of age or older with a valid state ID. Missouri did not waste any time setting up its adult-use retail market. You can actually buy recreational cannabis in the state of Missouri as of now. Some places will announce recreational cannabis laws have passed, but they take months, sometimes longer, to implement them.

What are the Cannabis Laws in Missouri?

A Missouri state website says, “Beginning December 8, 2022, consumers will be allowed to legally possess up to 3 ounces of marijuana. However, marijuana will not be available for consumers to purchase in a Missouri-licensed dispensary facility until medical facility licensees convert their licenses to comprehensive facilities.”  It is now 2023, and you can buy retail weed in Missouri. That is precisely what people are doing. Having a strong agricultural industry, Missouri stands to make a name for itself in the newly legalized cannabis industry.

Missouri’s new marijuana law went into effect this month, making it legal for anyone older than 21 to buy, possess, deliver, use, manufacture, and sell marijuana in the state. It also sets the stage for thousands of Missourians to have their criminal records expunged, a move that some say is a step in the right direction for criminal justice reform. – PBS

If you’re looking to enjoy cannabis while exploring some of the beautiful scenic areas Missouri has to offer, all you have to do is have a valid state-issued ID and be 21 years of age or older. Not all cannabis dispensaries have taken the necessary steps to sell both medical and recreational adult-use cannabis. It’s probably a good idea to call a dispensary before you visit them to make sure they offer recreational cannabis sales.

Buying Marijuana in The Show-Me State

There are 196 places to buy retail weed in Missouri legally as of the time of this writing. Medical cannabis dispensaries in Missouri that followed application guidelines had their licenses converted to serve both a medical and recreational market. Local media reported that “Nearly 200 Missouri dispensaries, as of Friday (Feb. 3rd, 2023), were able to sell marijuana to anyone 21 and older, marking the official start to the state’s legal cannabis program following voter approval last year.”

Why You Should Get Your Medical Marijuana Card

Veriheal has satisfied millions of patients nationwide by giving them access to these benefits

  • Larger purchase limits
  • Peace of mind
  • Enhanced legal protection
  • Access to higher potency strains
  • Save up to 25% on cannabis purchases
  • Skip the line at the dispensary

When it comes to the money cannabis can generate for the state, you could say, “Show-Me the Money,” with the state placing an additional 6% tax on recreational sales. Municipalities across Missouri are tackling a decision in April deciding whether or not they will add an additional 3% tax to recreational cannabis sales. Cannabis taxes are already a little high in Missouri. According to a state website,

“Any cannabis, other than a cannabis-infused product, with an adjusted delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol level* above 35% shall be taxed at a rate of 25% of the purchase price, and. A cannabis-infused product shall be taxed at a rate of 20% of the purchase price.”

This means adult-use cannabis taxes in the state of Missouri could run between 26-34%! This is probably why so many Missouri medical cannabis patients turned to the medical cannabis market in Oklahoma to meet their needs. In comparison, medical cannabis patients in Oklahoma pay an 11.5% tax. According to the 2023 Oklahoma Marijuana Tax Handbook, “Oklahoma patients are required to pay a 4.50% sales tax on every purchase of medical marijuana. There is also an additional excise tax of 7% on every purchase of medical marijuana.”

How do Missouri Residents Buy Cannabis in Oklahoma?

In order for Missouri residents or other residents of other states to purchase cannabis legally in Oklahoma, they must be valid MMJ cardholders in their state. This means if you live in a state like California, Colorado, New Mexico, Missouri, or others that have passed legal, medical cannabis laws, you can legally buy medical cannabis from dispensaries in Oklahoma. This is called ‘reciprocity‘. It does take a little planning though. You can’t just walk into a dispensary and show your out-of-state med card to legally make a purchase. You must first apply for a temporary license through the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) website. A temporary license in the state of Oklahoma will cost you $100. It takes an estimated 14 days for the state to process your application. Once your application is approved, you will be issued a temporary license that is valid for 30 days. These licenses can be renewed.

Oklahoma is one of more than a dozen states that honor out-of-state med cards. Being a medical cannabis patient gives you access to cannabis in more places than you would have if you were just a recreational consumer. There are many benefits to being a medical cannabis patient. Wider access to medical cannabis, access to more potent products, access to higher limits, and as a medical cannabis patient, you avoid recreational cannabis tax. If you’re looking for a place to buy recreational cannabis in the state of Missouri, there are several popular apps you can ask to show me where to buy weed at in the Show-Me state.

Post Your Comments

Get your medical marijuana card today
Sign up in under 5 minutes