Do I Qualify?

Make an Appointment

Content Hub


Find a Dispensary Read Articles


Applying for your medical marijuana card is easier than ever. Just book an appointment. Talk to a doctor. And get your card. Bing. Bam. Boom.

Marijuana Doctors

Get your medical marijuana card

Cannabis Consultation

One on one with a cannabis coach

Patient Login

Sign in to your Veriheal patient account


How Much Weed Can You Get With A Medical Card?

Emily Mullins

by Emily Mullins

March 6, 2024 01:38 pm ET Estimated Read Time: 7 Minutes
Fact checked by Kymberly Drapcho
How Much Weed Can You Get With A Medical Card?

Since cannabis is still a federally illegal substance, the hodgepodge of marijuana laws across different states can be confusing to navigate. Nobody wants to break the law and risk hefty fines or jail time, so many people often wonder exactly how much weed you can get with a medical card. Knowing the answers to this question is vital to avoid accidentally having too much cannabis on you at one time.

By following these guidelines to the letter, you can ensure that you safely and legally consume cannabis for your medical needs without the risk of legal troubles. On average, purchase limits range between one and six ounces per state. However, some are much lower, and others go significantly higher.

How Much Weed Can You Get With a Medical Card?

The exact amounts of cannabis a medical marijuana cardholder can purchase vary from one state to another. These purchase limits may change, so stay updated with rules and regulations regularly. Additionally, each state has specific laws on how much weed you can carry and possess with a medical card.

Not only do states have differing laws on how much you can buy at a time, but many states also have rules regarding how often you can purchase the legal limit of cannabis. Other states may not have purchase limits but instead focus on THC percentages, such as Texas, where cannabis products must have less than 1% THC.

Check out the comprehensive list below to see how much you can legally purchase and possess at a time under current laws:

  • Alabama:  .5-.75 grams per day
  • Alaska: 1 ounce of flower, 7 grams of concentrate, or 5,600 milligrams of combined products per day
  • Arkansas: 2.5 ounces every 14 days
  • California: medical patients can have no more than eight ounces of cannabis at a time
  • Colorado: 2 ounces of flower or 8 grams of concentrate per day
  • Connecticut: medical card holders can possess up to 5 ounces
  • Delaware: 3 ounces every 14 days
  • Florida: 2.5 ounces every 35 days. Patients can possess no more than 4 ounces at a time
  • Georgia: Up to 20 fluid ounces of select low-THC products that contain a maximum of 5% THC
  • Guam: 2.5 ounces
  • Hawaii: 4 ounces per week
  • Illinois: 2.5 ounces every 14 days
  • Iowa: 4.5 grams every 90 days
  • Louisiana: patients can possess up to 2.5 ounces at a time
  • Maine: both recreational and medicinal users can have up to 2.5 ounces
  • Maryland: up to 1.5 ounces of flower and 12 grams of concentrates
  • Massachusetts: up to 28 grams of flower or a combined total of flower and concentrates (with no more than 5 grams of concentrates) per day. Patients can possess up to ten ounces at a time
  • Michigan: up to 2.5 ounces per day and no more than 10 ounces per month
  • Mississippi: no more than 21 grams per week
  • Missouri: up to 4 ounces every 30 days
  • Montana: up to 1 ounce per day and 5 ounces per month
  • Nevada: patients can possess up to 2.5 ounces, with one-quarter ounce of concentrates
  • New Hampshire: 2 ounces
  • New Jersey: 3 ounces every 30 days
  • New Mexico: patients can possess a 90-day supply at a time, which amounts to 8 ounces
  • New York: 60-day supply. Patients can possess up to 3 ounces or 24 grams of concentrates at a time
  • North Dakota: up to 3 ounces every 30 days
  • Ohio: 2.83 grams (1/10 of an ounce) of flower, 295 milligrams of THC in patch, lotion, cream, or ointment form, 110 milligrams of THC in oil, tincture, capsule, or edible for oral administration, and 590 milligrams of THC in oil for vaporization every 45 days
  • Oklahoma: patients can purchase up to 3 ounces at once with their med card but can possess up to 8 ounces of flower, 1 ounce of concentrates, or 72 ounces of edibles at a time
  • Oregon: 24 ounces
  • Pennsylvania: 30-day supply, or up to 21 grams of flower per day
  • Puerto Rico: patients can purchase and possess up to a 30-day supply amounting to 1 ounce of flower or 8 grams of concentrates per day
  • Rhode Island: 2.5 ounces every 30 days
  • South Dakota: 3 ounces every 14 days
  • Texas: no defined purchase limits, but patients are only allowed low-THC cannabis oil
  • U.S. Virgin Islands: patients can possess up to 4 ounces
  • Utah: 30-day supply as recommended by a physician
  • Vermont: up to 1 ounce per day
  • Virginia: patients can possess up to 4 ounces at a time
  • Washington: a combination of 38 ounces of solid infused products, 21 grams of concentrates, 216 ounces of liquid, or 3 ounces of flower
  • Washington D.C.: patients can possess up to 2 ounces

Does a Medical Marijuana Card Get You a Discount?

There are a number of benefits associated with getting a medical marijuana card, even in states where adult-use (recreational) cannabis is legalized.

First, and most importantly, medical card limits for purchasing are often much higher than recreational limits. For example, patients in California can possess up to 8 ounces, while recreational users can only have 1 ounce at a time. This means fewer trips to dispensaries to stock up and replenish your supply.

Why You Should Get Your Medical Marijuana Card

Veriheal has satisfied millions of patients nationwide by giving them access to these benefits

  • Larger purchase limits
  • Peace of mind
  • Enhanced legal protection
  • Access to higher potency strains
  • Save up to 25% on cannabis purchases
  • Skip the line at the dispensary

Not only can you have more cannabis in your possession, but it’s often cheaper to buy as well. Recreational customers can pay taxes ranging anywhere from 15-37% depending on the state, but only standard taxes apply to medical marijuana products. These savings can add up to hundreds or thousands of dollars a year, depending on how much cannabis you consume and purchase. In some states, medical marijuana patients also can grow more plants than recreational users. Additionally, medical cannabis products often have access to products with higher THC percentages.

While it’s fairly obvious that only medical patients are allowed to visit dispensaries in medicinal-only states, did you know that recreational states also tend to have dispensaries designated solely for medical cardholders? Having a medical card gives you access to more dispensaries, which can make getting your products much easier.

Finally, there’s reciprocity, which allows medical cardholders to purchase cannabis in states that they don’t live in. Not every state allows reciprocity, so be sure to check before you go. However, this makes traveling hassle-free and ensures that you’ll still have access to your medicinal products even when you’re not at home. The following states allow out-of-state medical cards to be used at their dispensaries:

  • Arizona (allows possession only)
  • Arkansas (patients from out-of-state may apply for a temporary in-state license)
  • California
  • Hawaii (patients from out-of-state may apply for a temporary in-state license)
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland (visitors may register for an MMJ card if they are visiting the state for medical treatment)
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Missouri (allows possession only)
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire (allows possession only)
  • Oklahoma (patients from out-of-state may apply for a temporary in-state license)
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington
  • Washington D.C.

It’s important to note, though, that traveling across state lines with cannabis products is illegal due to weed’s current status as a federally banned substance.

Get Your Medical Marijuana Card Today

Now that you know how much weed you can get as a cannabis patient, it’s time for the next step: getting a medical marijuana card for yourself. Our quick, easy, and professional service streamlines the process so you can have your card and make purchases within days.

After setting up your appointment, you’ll see a doctor to confirm you have a qualifying medical condition in your state. Next, they’ll help you apply for your card through your state’s process. After that, you simply have to wait for your application to be approved and for your card to come in–sometimes, this happens in as little as 24 hours.

Once you receive your card, you’re all set to start making purchases at your local dispensary. Relief is only a few steps away!

Post Your Comments

Get your medical marijuana card today
Sign up in under 5 minutes